Frogs and Toads

Frogs and Toads of Iowa

Iowa has 17 species of frogs and toads. Click on the links below to view the complete species account, range maps, and more photos.

American Toad (Anaxyrus americanus)

Great Plains Toad (Anaxyrus cognatus)

Fowler’s Toad (Anaxyrus fowleri)

Woodhouse’s Toad (Anaxyrus woodhousii)

Blanchard’s Cricket Frog (Acris blanchardi)

                                    Gray Treefrog Complex

Cope’s Gray Treefrog (Hyla chrysoscelis)

Eastern Gray Treefrog (Hyla versicolor)

Spring Peeper (Pseudacris crucifer)

Boreal Chorus Frog (Pseudacris maculata)

Crawfish Frog (Lithobates areolatus)

Plains Leopard Frog (Lithobates blairi)

American Bullfrog (Lithobates catesbeianus)

Green Frog (Lithobates clamitans)

Pickerel Frog (Lithobates palustris)

Northern Leopard Frog (Lithobates pipiens)

Southern Leopard Frog (Lithobates sphenocephalus)

Plains Spadefoot (Spea bombifrons)