Snakes of Iowa

Iowa has 28 species of snakes. Click on the links below to view the complete species account, range maps, and more photos.

Western Worm Snake (Carphophis vermis)

Western worm snake, Madison County, Iowa

North American Racer (Coluber constrictor)

Ringneck Snake (Diadophis punctatus)

Plains Hog-nosed Snake (Heterodon nasicus)

Eastern Hog-nosed Snake (Heterodon platirhinos)

Prairie Kingsnake (Lampropeltis calligaster)

Speckled Kingsnake (Lampropeltis holbrooki)

Eastern Milk Snake (Lampropeltis triangulum)

Plainbelly Water Snake (Nerodia erythrogaster)

Diamondback Water Snake (Nerodia rhombifer)

Northern Water Snake (Nerodia sipedon)

Smooth Green Snake (Opheodrys vernalis)

Western Rat Snake (Pantherophis obsoletus)

Western Fox Snake (Pantherophis ramspotti)

Gopher Snake (aka Bullsnake – Pituophis catenifer)

Graham’s Crayfish Snake (Regina grahamii)

Brown Snake (Storeria dekayi)

Redbelly Snake (Storeria occipitomaculata)

Western Ribbon Snake (Thamnophis proximus)

Plains Garter Snake (Thamnophis radix)

Common Garter Snake (Thamnophis sirtalis)

Lined Snake (Tropidoclonion lineatum)

Smooth Earth Snake (Virginia valeriae)

Eastern Copperhead (Agkistrodon contortrix)

Timber Rattlesnake (Crotalus horridus)

Prairie Rattlesnake (Crotalus viridis)

Eastern Massasauga (Sistrurus catenatus)

Western Massasauga (Sistrurus tergeminus)